Button to scroll to the top of the page.

Astronomy Colloquium

Date Time Speaker Title
Tuesday, September 03, 2019 03:30pm Postdoc Colloquium

Speakers:

Will Best, The University of Texas at Austin
Probing the Low-Mass End of the Initial Mass Function

Hope Chen, The University of Texas at Austin
Core Evolution through a Coherent Phase: An Updated Core Evolution Theory Told by Machine Learning

Chenxu Liu, The University of Texas at Austin
Searching for “Naked” Supermassive Black Hole Candidates with HETDEX

Yifan Zhou, The University of Texas at Austin
Time-Resolved Observations of Directly-imaged Planetary-Mass Companions and Exoplanets

 

 

Tuesday, September 10, 2019 03:30pm Chat Hull, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan

Magnetized star formation in the ALMA era

Tuesday, September 17, 2019 03:30pm Stephanie Douglas, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics

Calibrating Stellar Activity, Rotation, and Multiplicity With Open Clusters

Tuesday, September 24, 2019 03:30pm Rob Kennicutt, University of Arizona and Texas A&M University

The Schmidt Law at Sixty

Tuesday, October 01, 2019 03:30pm Charlie Conroy, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics

Assembling our Galaxy

Tuesday, October 08, 2019 03:30pm Jonathan Fortney, UC Santa Cruz

Population-Level Planetary Physics

Tuesday, October 15, 2019 03:30pm Heather Knutson, California Institute of Technology

Exploring the Mysterious Origins of Super-Earths and Mini-Neptunes

Tuesday, October 22, 2019 03:30pm BashFest 2019 - No colloquium

BashFest 2019 - No colloquium

Tuesday, October 29, 2019 03:30pm Michelle Ntampaka, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics

A Deep Learning Approach to Galaxy Cluster X-ray Masses

Tuesday, November 05, 2019 03:30pm Laura Sales, UC Riverside

Dwarf Galaxies and their Dark Matter Content