Button to scroll to the top of the page.

The Department of Astronomy at UT Austin is one of the top 10 astronomy research programs in the United States. Our faculty members are among the worldwide leaders in cosmology, galaxies, stars, the interstellar medium, planets, the solar system, and instrumentation. With twenty active teaching faculty, twelve research scientists, a large number of research associates and postdoctoral fellows, over 40 graduate students, and about 100 undergraduate students, the department fosters a stimulating and friendly atmosphere that promotes intellectual development and diversity.

Our undergraduate students have the rare opportunity to take classes and conduct research with some of the world's top astronomers. After students complete some core courses, our faculty/research staff offer exciting research opportunities, including working with data taken by NASA's telescopes and with ground-based telescopes all over the world (including our own McDonald Observatory in West Texas), as well as projects in theoretical and computational astrophysics.

We reward excellence in our students through a Freshman Prize for Excellence and numerous merit and research awards for advanced undergraduate students including the Karl G. Henize endowed scholarship, the Board of Visitors scholarship, and the Outstanding Senior Award. We provide financial support for our students to travel to conferences and observatories, including McDonald Observatory, where they benefit from the world's largest telescopes, advanced instrumentation, and dark skies.

The Astronomy program helps to prepare undergraduate students for further education in graduate school or/and many career paths spanning education, research, computing, government and journalism. And above all, it gives students the opportunity to join the great intellectual adventures and explorations of astronomy.

If you have questions, please contact us at:

Student Coordinator
Ty Holloman
Department of Astronomy
University of Texas at Austin
PMA 15.204
Austin, TX 78712

phone: (512) 471-0481
fax: (512) 471-6016

Undergraduate Honors Advisor
Dr. Adam Kraus

Undergraduate Advisor
Dr. Caitlin Casey

Assistant Undergraduate Advisors
Dr. Keith Hawkins
Dr. John Chisholm